Here We Go Again (Or…TKR Part Deux)!

Subchondral Cysts in Osteoarthritis of the Knee

This isn’t my x-ray, but shows an example of subchondral cysts in osteoarthrosis of the knee.

Today was my five-month visit to the orthopedist and also marked the seven-month anniversary of my right knee replacement surgery.

Now it’s time for my left knee to go under the knife, and its current state is worse than I thought.

In addition to the obvious bone on bone due to absence of cartilage, subchondral cysts (cysts in the bone underneath the cartilage) showed up in the x-ray of my left knee. These cysts indicate the erosive phase of osteoarthritis; in my case Stage IV, the most severe stage of OA (Click here to read more about subchondral cysts). My patella (kneecap) also appeared slightly higher than normal.

To sum up everything…my left knee is a disaster!

I’m scheduled for surgery September 14. My orthopedist always operates on Monday morning, so I should know the prior Friday exactly what time I should be at the hospital. One positive thing facing surgery this time is already knowing what to expect. I’ve already made out the “pre-op things to do” list and my calendar marked with upcoming appointments over the next four weeks or so.

I’ll be in the final stage of dental work next Friday (August 23) that won’t require any cutting or tooth pulling. The next steps will be the pre-op tests (of which many of you either facing or already had surgery are familiar: EKG, chest x-ray, urinalysis, blood work, etc.) and then clearance from my primary doctor.

Cooking and freezing meals, scheduling my cat sitter (she’ll only have to deal with two cats this time instead of three since my 15-year-old gray tabby, Spanky, passed away last week), getting all household bills paid in advance, giving the place a thorough cleaning, and making a list of things to pack (including my walker and cane from the last surgery), and one of the most important things: starting my pre-op exercises.

Pre-op physical therapy exercises not only strengthen muscles around the area before surgery, but also help in post-op recovery (I can speak from personal experience). Like before, I’ll either head to the hospital’s transitional care unit, or if there are no open beds, possibly sent to an outside rehab facility.

Meanwhile, I have another pre-op goal in mind: to lose about 20 more pounds before going into the hospital. I’ve already lost ten, so things are off to a great start. September 14 will come quick.

One thought on “Here We Go Again (Or…TKR Part Deux)!

  1. Wishing you all the best in your next venture. I myself hope that I never have to ever have my other knee done. As I’m in my 9th week, my knee is still painful and now I have numbness on the left side of my knee? All I want is to be somewhat pain free. Anyway all the best to you and thanks for keeping me updated😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

